Bell’s Palsy Patient Testimonial

Bell’s palsy is a form of facial paralysis resulting from a dysfunction of the cranial nerve VII (the facial nerve) that results in the inability to control facial muscles on the affected side. We had a patient that has Bell’s Palsy and this is her experience with the treatment she received in our office. I share this testimonial because there are other options of treatment for medical conditions that seem to complement traditional medicine. This testimonial along with others can be found at our office.

April 9, 2012

“Dr Krueger and Dr. Choe,

I am writing this letter to thank you for all you have done to help me thru my several months of dealing with Bells Palsy.

I was diagnosed back in Nov. 2011 after I woke up and the right side of my face was semi paralyzed. We immediately went to my primary care physician and she diagnosed me with Bells Palsy. She put me on some prescriptions and said to let her know if I had any problems but this could last anywhere from a couple of weeks to several months.

Several days later I started having extreme pain in my jaw and ear and went to an ENT to make sure there was no problem with my ear. The ENT confirmed the Bells Palsy diagnosis and gave me strong nerve pain medicine that did alleviate the pain but I was still unable to blink and my speech was impaired and my right side of my face had no improvement. I was told that there was nothing much else they could do I just needed to be patient and “wait it out”.

After weeks of frustration and no improvement I decided to try Physical Therapy. I started going every day for several weeks with little improvement. A friend of mine who had dealt with this condition in the past recommended I see a chiropractor and get some acupuncture. I started seeing Dr. Krueger and the day after I first saw him I started to notice a difference. Each time I saw Dr. Krueger I could feel improvement. Not only did he physically help me, Dr. Krueger was my own personal cheerleader. He supported me emotionally thru this depressing ordeal as well. The balance in my face began to steadily improve. After a couple of weeks there was noticeable improvement in my face but my eye was still not blinking and my speech was not back. Dr. Krueger consulted Dr. Choe and they suggested that adding acupuncture might help. We started with 10 treatments of acupuncture in addition to the chiropractic care. Dr. Choe would target my eye and sure enough the next day I could feel movement starting there. He targeted my mouth and the next day I had more taste sensation. Finally I could feel myself starting to get back to “normal”. I have to say I was kind of skeptical of all the needles and the idea of this but I am totally a believer now. As of today I would say I am 95% better.

Drs. Choe and Krueger were wonderful supporters. I feel they were positive and consistent with their honest assessment of what they could do to help me with my condition. It was comforting to know that they were helping me thru this without trying to push more treatment on me when I was vulnerable.

My only regret is that I didn’t “go with my gut” and start seeing Dr. Krueger and Dr. Choe sooner. I suffered thru over a month just waiting and feeling helpless listening to other doctors tell me there was nothing I could do. I feel that if had started chiro and acupuncture treatments sooner I could have avoided such a long drawn out ordeal.

Sincerely,
Debbie W. “

Leave a Reply

